About

Hey, so a little background information on me, I’ll try to keep this as condensed as possible. I was born and raised in Torquay, Devon and as is true for most outdoor adventure enthusiasts I was a definite Tomboy child. Always feeling more at home when kicking a football, shooting hoops or off exploring a forest with only a pack of dogs for company than anywhere near a shopping centre.  At a young age I was bitten by the highly addictive ‘horsey’ bug resulting in negligible sightings of me anywhere other than the stables.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Me and my old horse Fred – such a legend!

Upon finishing school I went on to study a 2 year National Diploma in …………………… of course, Horse Management! Since then I have worked in various grooms jobs, mostly sports horses and hunting. One of the few advantages of equestrian work is it is fundamentally the same worldwide. This is a fact I have taken full advantage of with 3 working holidays under my belt so far, these were to;

AUSTRALIA – where I worked on a cattle ranch and backpacked the East coast.

oz 2 Kayaking, Whitsunday islands.

NEW ZEALAND – where I worked on a family show hunter and racing yard before backpacking both islands. An incredible country definitely a favorite of mine.

nz mnt stevens  Hiking Mount stevens

GERMANY – here I worked on a private yard producing young showjumpers. When I had enough money I left and backpacked around Eastern Europe.

europe 2 Hiking near Kotor, Montenegro

DENMARK – I worked for a big showjumping stables with whom I  traveled to Spain’s sunshine tour showjumping festival. Before working there my boyfriend at the time and I traveled around Western Europe in a caravan with our 2 dogs.

dolomites Skiing in the Dolomites.

The backpacking of course involved lots of hiking, kayaking, mountain biking and where possible a cheeky little bit of skiing!

Now I’ve arrived at the stage of life where I’ve finally had the enlightened realization that horses are NOT a great long term prospect for me. Followed by the super idea that writing about my other lifelong love – adventure sports would be a much more rewarding and enjoyable career path for me.

Having completed a Diploma in Freelance and Feature with the London school of Journalism with a Distinction I am now working part time as a Freelance Journalist and part time as a groom/dogsitter in North Devon.

Whenever possible I spend my free time trail running and mountain biking. Last year I completed my first marathon which was on trails over Dartmoor, somehow bagging a 3rd place finish! This year I plan to focus on racing my mountain bike instead.

I will be racing an Orbea Rallon this season in an ambassadorship role for the Red Brick cycles race team. With the fab mechanics there backing me up and the support and fun of racing with my friend Laura I can’t wait to get started with the season. The bike is feeling rapid and giving me loads more confidence so if nothing else I’m sure I will be having lots of fun!

Through this blog I hope to share my experiences with others in a way that inspires them to follow their dreams, no matter how much of a change in paths that might require. I truly believe anything is possible with enough hard work and determination, a little luck never goes amiss though!

One last thing, I expect this little face will frequently pop up on my blog –

WP_20141104_001

 – this is Mawli, she is my child. She comes everywhere with me and is an accomplished trail dog, be it running or mountain biking.

Like a true Collie she is of course excessively obsessed with tennis balls.

Even in her sleep!              maw child and Timmy

P.S – Yes I know she has massive ears, they make me laugh everyday!